SHARING IDEAS – EQUINE PROFESSIONALS ON A MISSION

Hi All,

Thanks for adding your email to my “sharing ideas” list at the AHP Convention.

I want to start a blog that we can all be a part of and while I will first tell you my goals I then would like to hear what you would like to achieve from such an undertaking.

At the AHP Seminar we all gained either new information or added to things we already know about but the wealth of information needs to continue.

My goal for this venture is to give us all a chance to network various subjects so that we can share our knowledge to help each other.

My plan is to take one subject at a time.  For instance, if we talked about Facebook it would begin with how do you sign up, what’s available on Facebook for you to take advantage of, how can you enhance your business through Facebook and so on.  We could do the same with the various blogs, or things like WordPress (how do you start a web site, add a blog, etc.).  Other thoughts would be discussing subjects such as Keyword Optimization.

Once we’ve done a topic I would like to then take the information that we’ve shared and put it in a document and create a pdf so that we can download it and have it available for reference for us and future members that may be added to this list after specific subjects have already been covered.

Another area I’d like to include are links to places we can go to help us improve our web sites, etc.  For instance, we learned about Connect and for me that’s been a great tool to keep an eye on.  If we could all give our input and share links and with each link we give a 2-5 sentence description of what you gain from going to that link I would again organize it in such a way that we can have it as one document to download.

Now that you’ve all heard my ideas I am wondering what would be the best platform to use.  What could I create that would allow us to include a blog, have pdf files that people could download, include profiles of our members and more.  Would WordPress be the  answer for this.  Perhaps that is the first subject we should network and learn from.

On another note, I’d like to also have one day a week that we can talk/blog about anything we want.  Maybe something like Free For All Fridays.  There people could discuss projects they are working on, jobs available or any other off-topic but of interest to this group subjects.  The one thing I also want to make clear from the start is what we don’t want to be discussed on this list.  My vote is that we maintain this as more of a professional educational list and leave sites like Facebook and Twitter for personal information.  Also, I’d like to keep the site really positive.

So, now that I’ve voiced my opinions, I would like to hear from all of you.  These are the questions I would love to get answers for:

introduce yourselves and give us a brief bio of who you are

what do you feel the best platform is to proceed with

– Most important – WHAT YOU HOPE TO GAIN FROM THIS GROUP INTERACTION and what topics would you like to cover 

For now I am doing this as a WordPress Blog because that is what I am most familiar with but others have suggested other blogs that would make more sense. 

Once I have gotten everyone’s introduction and bio information, I will also organize that so we can have an easy reference for everyone.  So, let the learning begin now by answering the above questions.

BTW – here is a list of topics I thought we could cover – please let me know if you have more suggestions:

Facebook

Twitter

LinkedIn

Flickr

Blogging (how to blog, what sites to use for blogging)

WordPress – what is it and what can you do with it

Web Site Keyword Optimization

Increasing traffic to your web site

Constant Contact

Any other suggestions

Diana

P.S.  Also feel free to let me know if you would like to be removed from this list by simply sending me an email stating that.  And on another note – if there are those who want to join the Sharing Ideas Blog please have them email me so I can add them to the distribution list.

 TO CONTACT ME DIRECTLY EMAIL – dderosa1@optonline.net

23 Comments

  1. Diane Rice said,

    July 13, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    Great ideas! Like most of you, I’m sure, I feel swamped, but I’ll contribute as much as possible!

    • dianaderosa said,

      July 13, 2009 at 11:46 pm

      Hi Diane,
      Thanks for taking the time to respond.

      Being swamped is actually what this is all about. We are all so swamped we don’t have time to do the research we need to get the answers we want. I hope that this group is going to help those of us who are anxious to learn but are overwhelmed with our lives. If those who have just a window of time are able to contribute a little we will all gain a lot.
      Diana

  2. Erica Larson said,

    July 13, 2009 at 11:51 pm

    This is a great idea. I’m definitely looking forward to both learning and contributing!

  3. Kim Brown said,

    July 14, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    Sounds really good Diana. Thanks for taking this on. I look forward to staying connected and hearing what everyone has to say.

    • dianaderosa said,

      July 14, 2009 at 12:37 pm

      Thanks Kim for your support and thanks to all who have responded so far. We are all too busy and so together hopefully we can learn if we are able from time to share a little of our knowledge on whatever topic we are discussing.

  4. Nicole Kraft said,

    July 14, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Great idea–I am looking forward to being part of it!

  5. July 14, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    Hi Diana – thanks for the blog. I’m working on starting an ENewsLetter to keep readers connected to Calif. Riding Magazine. I’m trying http://www.mynewsletterbuilder.com as it will do some pretty cool stuff.
    Also I’m going to http://www.compete.com to track and compare our website. I’m looking forward to sharing and learning with all of you.

    • dianaderosa said,

      July 14, 2009 at 2:44 pm

      Cheryl – you have started the ball rolling. Thanks so much for these bits of information. I will start documents for each of these and keep any other relevant information that people state related to these. I have a question. Could you take us to the process of using compete. Once you click on the site what are the steps you take to get to the comparisons. And for mynewsletterbuilder.com. I’d be curious to know how people feel this compares to other newsletter programs such ans Constant Contact. Any input would be welcome and I will keep track of your comments. Also are there other things that can be done with compete other than compare web site hits and the same question for mynewsletterbuilder.com. Is that just basically a place where you can create a newsletter?
      Much thanks for your input.

  6. July 14, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    compete.com – on the home page put in url in first box then next box the one you want to compare – you can save your comparison’s in your portfolio – if you play around in the site long enough you’ll figure it out. The newsletter site has lots of options – I’ll know more after I get it going and report back in a few weeks. – off to work now. Compete.com has lots of bells and whistles too.

  7. Ann Pringle said,

    July 14, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    Hi Diana,
    I too am looking forward to taking those first baby steps. Prior to AHP I hadn’t a clue how social media fit into our business. Now I feel a little behind the curve, so I’m glad there are more like me out there.

  8. Jennifer Bryant said,

    July 15, 2009 at 12:36 am

    Thanks for taking this on, Diana. Thus far, I’ve used Facebook primarily for personal use, but I suspect there are untapped professional uses, groups to join, etc. The one that has surprised me is Twitter: I find all sorts of useful news tidbits and have amassed a decent following as well — plus it’s fun! I think of it as my self-branding experiment.

  9. Fran Jurga said,

    July 15, 2009 at 12:53 am

    You go, girl!

    It is doubtful one system/platform will work for everyone. We all have our faves.

    What you are proposing is very ambitious; I’d keep the delivery as simple as possible. WordPress.org is great as is format that lets you build an entire site around a blog and upload content, build pages, etc. around the blog.
    Squarespace works that way too.
    I’ll help if I can!

    All the best,
    Fran

  10. July 15, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    This is a really great venue for me. I had been working on twitter and Facebook prior to the AHP seminar, but I didn’t know the extent that I could take them. We recently started a http://www.myequinejournal.com too and I’m trying to figure out the best way to get subscribers, maybe starting blogs/discussions. I will try and bring some of my experiences to the table, although I’m just starting as well.
    I’m definitely going to look into those newsletter websites. Thanks!

    • Diana De Rosa said,

      July 15, 2009 at 6:54 pm

      Celeste your site looks great. What platform did you build that with?
      Diana

      • July 17, 2009 at 3:10 pm

        Thanks Diana! I didn’t build it so I’m not familiar with how to create such a site, but I believe it was created with Ning.

      • July 17, 2009 at 3:13 pm

        Thanks Diana! I didn’t build it myself, so I’m not familiar with how to create such a site. But I believe it was created with Ning.

  11. Sarah Evers said,

    July 20, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    Thanks for getting this up and running. I think this will also be a great way for everyone to connect and keep the excitement going. This will also give many of us practice at doing a blog entry or responding to one, and see how effective social media can be. See you soon.

  12. Ann Pringle said,

    July 23, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    I’ve just gotten my feet wet with Facebook, but am finding it a little more complicated than I was led to believe it was. I’d like to find out more from those who have mastered it. I don’t find their help helpful. I’m also interested in finding out how I can relate this to my magazine.

    • Diana De Rosa said,

      July 23, 2009 at 8:40 pm

      Hi Ann,
      Thanks so much for assigning the group our first project and Facebook is perfect. So, let’s hear from everyone. I am also new to facebook and while I use it a fair amount I am really clueless. So, what I’m hoping to hear from everyone are specific questions from those who want to be educated and from those who know a lot can you give us specific examples of things you can do on Facebook with the steps that go along with doing that. I’ll take all you comments and compile them into a document. My question is pretty basic. I’ve heard about having a Fan Club on Facebook. What exactly is that and what are the steps to doing it and why should you. I’m glad to have this group of people to turn to. Thanks for all your sharing. Diana

  13. Teri Rehkopf said,

    August 28, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    This is in the works for all of you now – TheEquinePost.com to be an equine/industry contributor site to be shared by all!

    Take advantage of my techy skills & ‘already done that’ & let me help get this off the ground asap!

    I’m playing around with the design now, but it is ready for posting as any design changes won’t affect posts. it’s being set up so it looks like an all discipline-oriented site.

  14. Tsquare said,

    March 5, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    Great Blog!……There’s always something here to make me laugh…Keep doing what ya do 🙂

  15. dianaderosa said,

    March 6, 2010 at 12:06 am

    Hi All,
    I started a meetup group called Sharing Ideas and it’s been great. I has become what I had hoped this group would become but we need people to share if we want this to work. Maybe we will try and have a Sharing Ideas meeting at the AHP Convention and that could inspire us to continue Sharing throughout the year. My Sharing Ideas Meetup group has taught me a lot of things I’d love to share with everyone.
    Diana

  16. asadiyah said,

    March 14, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    great article, thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

